What software languages should students try to learn outside what they learn at university

I’m a second year software engineering student at the University of Auckland and this year was my first real exposure to coding. The only programming language we used this year was Java. I was wondering what programming languages I should try learning, or what should I try do this summer to build up some fundamentals required in the software development industry. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you!

1 Like

As a javascript developer, I would recommend javascript. It is the language of browser and also being used more and more widely in web server.
Unlike other languages, you don’t need to install any compiler or studio to start developing javascript, just the browser. It is easy to see your code making effect.
The only basis is that you might need to learn some html and css first. But they are also good to know.

3 Likes

I asked this question to a friend here at Duke and this was his answer,

"The answer to your question depends largely on what field you want to pursue within computer science.

Enterprise jobs working on the backend will typically require extensive fluency with databases and some of the more heavy duty object oriented languages. In that situation, SQL (or something like MongoDB if you would like to pursue a more new-age NoSQL solution) on top of Java and C# should be wonderful introductions. Higher level object oriented languages can teach you many of the necessary skills you will need to know when it comes to architecting the general flow of large applications and supplementary resources like Git will introduce you to the code-sharing concepts that are fundamental to large design teams.