What is it like to study biomedical engineering at Duke?

I have heard that biomedical engineering at Duke is one of the most competitive, well resourced programs in this area. What is it like to study there?

1 Like

I am a current sophomore here at Duke. I applied to Duke knowing I wanted to do BME because I loved both technology and medicine, and obviously, BME seemed like the right way to go. Duke is clearly very highly ranked in BME and that does seem very apparent given the rigor of classes and the opportunities students are given here.

If you put in the effort while here to get a research position, you’ll find one. I would say a good number of kids here get research positions, not only to feed their curiosity but also to increase their chances of getting jobs/internships later in their college careers.

Workwise, I am more busy than I’ve ever been before, and I went to a pretty challenging high school. Learning effective time management is something that happens to everyone.

I will say, that for those who want it, there is a great work hard play hard ethic here. People you see going out on Fridays will be grinding in the library next to you on Sundays. But ya, in terms of workload, pretty much all your classes will revolve around problem sets, due weekly. Perks, you can choose when to work. Cons, we all end up waiting till the night before each set is due and absolutely wreck ourselves with coffee and a lack of sleep that night. Haha