What is it like to study at a liberal arts college like Amherst?

I’m considering schools like Williams, Amherst and Swarthmore and would love some insights into what they are like.

I’m currently in my first semester as a first-year at Amherst College, so I can give you some fresh insight into my life here.

Academics:

• My courses aren’t too hard at the moment to be honest, because I got some great professors and chose pretty fun/interesting courses. Also, although a typical high school day used to be 6 hours long, here, I only have around 15 hours of classes per week - just more homework and assignments to work on in my own time. However, it’s not uncommon to see ambitious students (who stacked up challenging, higher-level courses) studying til 3am almost every night.
  • Because this is a liberal arts college, choosing courses is very flexible and this is a great place to really discover your true academic interests. You can choose 4 courses per semester (from any of the 38 academic areas) and you only have to declare your major at the end of your sophomore year.
  • Professors are really passionate! I can’t say every single professor is perfect, but they put in a genuine effort to help students. Students can use office hours to go talk to professors (to talk about exams, studying, your hobbies, their life story, whatever!) and especially for those classes with only 10-15 students, it’s really easy to build intimate connections with both your professor and fellow classmates. I’m having an ice-cream outing with my seminar classmates this weekend!
  • There are really unique classes offered. For more information, it would be best to check out the college catalogue yourself (search: Amherst college course scheduler).

Social life: