What are the 5 biggest mistakes of students in A Level English Literature?

Can anyone summarize their experience?

From the perspective of someone who really hated English Literature (I’m a science/commerce student), this is my biggest regret.

Not writing enough essays throughout the year - If your teacher is chill, and you have year 13 privileges, most can usually get away with not writing a single essay for the year except during exams. (I did). This really negatively affected my ability to write fast, coherently, and confidently as well as having a greater effect on my performance on essay-based scholarship subjects.

I hate writing essays (laziness) but I recommend you get into habit of writing lots of essays till it becomes as natural as doing a mathematics past-paper.

1 Like

I did A Level English Literature during my final year at Westlake Boys High School where half of A2 Eng Lit was assessed through 2 pieces of coursework (1,500 words worth 25% of your A2 grade, or 12.5% of your entire A Level Eng Lit grade each), ending up with an A* (94%, a slight drop from 96% in AS English Lit). Here are the 5 biggest mistakes from my POV:

1. Not taking NCEA Scholarship English! Personally, I took it in year 12 alongside AS Eng Lit, and unlike math or science for which there may be significant additional content to learn if you have only studied a subject until AS or NCEA level 2, NCEA Schol English is primarily skill-based and allows you to use several texts from a variety of genres (short texts, drama, extended texts, film) you’ve studied during the past few years. By AS level, your analysis and critical thinking skills should be developed enough to comfortably tackle the unfamiliar text section, too. Passing and/or scoring Outstanding is very doable if you’re sitting at B or above for A Level Eng Lit, especially as you’ll be able to recycle a lot of texts that you’re going to learn anyway for your externals.