Transfer Admission

Hi!

I am looking for some advice on what I can do to strengthen my application. I am currently a freshman at a AACSB accredited institution (it’s a good school in my area). My major is Undecided-Business but I am looking to declare as a Finance major and possibly get a dual degree in Economics.

I am planning to apply to Cornell, Villanova, U of Notre Dame, and UPenn. These are all tough schools to gain admission and I am willing to work my hardest to be accepted.

In my first semester, I will most likely end up with a 3.6-3.7 GPA in my first semester (I’m taking high-level courses like Calculus II and an advanced Spanish course). Next semester I should be able to receive a 3.8 GPA at minimum but will probably end with a 4.0.

My college extracurriculars consist of: weekly community service, part of campus ministry that serves in the Sunday morning mass, participate in computer science club, and am the President and Co-Founder of the Chess & Checkers Club on campus.

My high school stats are sub-par. I had a low GPA (upwards trend; I faced many personal difficulties during this time). My SAT was a 1370 (710 Math; 660 CRW) but I can retake it and be able to score upwards of 1480 at least (I’ve done many practice tests). Also, I was heavily involved in athletics in high school.

I am looking to transfer as a rising junior so I will be able to prove I can perform at a high level academically. I will also take classes in the summer because I will be working full-time next fall relating to finance thanks to our co-op program on campus.

*My questions are:

1. What can I do to build my application?

2. How do my extracurriculars look?

3. Other than the co-op program, what can I do to show my passion for Finance and Economics?

Thank you ahead of time!

Hi there,

Thanks for your questions.