Summer Theatre Programs

I’m thinking of applying to university drama programs in the US, but I still have two years before I apply. I’m trying to decide how to make the most of my summers and better my chances of getting in. What are good summer theatre programs and do they help you get accepted?

Especially as an international student, I think that doing a summer theatre program in the US is a fantastic way to learn more about the field, the requirements for applying to various schools, and gives you the opportunity to meet other applicants and professors from the top university programs. A number of schools with the most competitive performing arts programs also offer pre-college summer courses, including NYU Tisch, University of Michigan (MPulse), Carnegie Mellon University, University of Southern California, Emerson College, Boston University, and University of North Carolina School for the Arts. Many of these schools have options for both straight acting as well as musical theatre. Even though you still have two years ahead of you, I would encourage you to look into the degree programs each University offers and then apply to the summer programs at the schools that most interest you.