School Insight: Westlake Boys' High School

Is there anyone who has had personal experience with Westlake Boys’ High School either in the capacity of student, parent, or staff member?

I’m interested in learning more about the school and its culture, in particular:

-Extracurriculars available
-Leadership and volunteer opportunities
-Academic structure (curriculum / how are classes categorised/streamed
-School tradition and culture
-Social aspect / inclusivity
-Facilities
-Anything else applicable/useful

What are the best parts about attending Westlake Boys’ High School? In addition, what are some of the weaknesses (if any).

What are some of the reasons that I’d choose Westlake over other top Auckland schools?

Great question, good on you for putting in the effort to consider your options! I’m a recent graduate of Westlake Boys, where I had a couple of leadership roles and was quite involved with much of what they had to offer there.

In terms of an overall picture, Westlake Boys is one of the best public schools in the country, and I’d really recommend it for almost anyone. As far as student achievement is concerned, it’s certainly right up there with the best schools of any sort in the country.

To give you a bit of an idea:
1) In 2014, WBHS had the best NZQA Scholarship results in the country, and has consistently been in the top 4 schools for the last few years

2) Almost all of the top sports teams are nationally ranked, and most have won national titles (or come very close!) in the last few years

3) As a boys’ school, it punches well above its weight as far as music and culture is concerned – these departments tend to join forces with Westlake Girls, and together they are generally seen as the highest achieving musical school in the country. In 2016, it achieved a clean sweep at both the KBB and national Big Sing competitions. Other cultural activities such as stage productions and Kapa Haka are not far behind this level of achievement.