School Insight: Shrewsbury International School

Is there anyone who has had personal experience with Shrewsbury either in the capacity of student, parent, or staff member?

I’m interested in learning more about the school and its culture, in particular:

-Extracurriculars available
-Leadership and volunteer opportunities
-Academic structure (curriculum / how are classes categorised/streamed
-School tradition and culture
-Social aspect / inclusivity
-Facilities
-Anything else applicable/useful

What are the best parts about attending Shrewsbury? In addition, what are some of the weaknesses (if any).

What are some of the reasons that I’d choose Shrewsbury over other top Bangkok International schools?

I am currently a grade 11 student studying A Levels at Shrewsbury.

Shrewsburry is a medium sized school with around 100 students per year level. With rough proportions of about 60% Thai and 40% International, a lot of our students are from the UK. We have a clear ranking system of each class, especially in the maths department (set 1, set 2, set 3 etc ranking) and we are given GPA’s.

The prefect system is one of the greatest parts of our school where the top leaders are selected fairly. They interview with head teachers and previous prefects and it’s not really based on academics or connections but on involvement at school. There’s also a student vote component.

I really love the teachers here who have always been very approachable and positive. It really creates a university setting and they treat us like adults and we can approach them in office hours. The A-Levels are very self-study orientated and really prepares us for university.

Tutoring is very common and nearly everyone in the top classes takes some form of tutoring. A lot of people also take IG examinations a year earlier to decrease the workload at different test centres but the school really discourages this.