School Insight: NIST

Is there anyone who has had personal experience with NIST either in the capacity of student, parent, or staff member?

I’m interested in learning more about the school and its culture, in particular:

-Extracurriculars available
-Leadership and volunteer opportunities
-Academic structure (curriculum / how are classes categorised/streamed
-School tradition and culture
-Social aspect / inclusivity
-Facilities
-Anything else applicable/useful

What are the best parts about attending NIST? In addition, what are some of the weaknesses (if any).

What are some of the reasons that I’d choose NIST over other top Bangkok international schools?

I am currently a grade 11 student doing the IB curriculum at NIST.

NIST is a school of around 2000 students from kindergarten to high school level. I think the rough proportions are 40% Thai, and 60% International, including a large proportion of Japanese people in the school. People are not ranked by class really except for the mathematical classes where they group my faculty.

I would describe the school culture as very service and sports focused. Teachers love hardworking students and these are the ones who get the top leadership positions. Parent interference is not an issue at this school. NIST also has a house system, full school assemblies and also sports games which really unite the schools and everyone is very proud of our athletic performance.

Most teachers are willing to help outside the class, and there’s some very good ones who have been around for a long time. They are usually happy to help you outside hours and through email. Our classes are very structured and we use google classrooms which are fine. Teachers also supervise extra-curricular which mean its easy to build relationships with them.

Most people get some kind of tutoring, usually a lot of maths tutoring on the side.