Paths to be doctor?

Hi,

I’m an NCEA student in CHCH. I am debating between going to medical school in NZ or AU. Can you please let me know how long does it take to be a doctor in both these countries? Like x yr in undergraduate + y yr in grad school + z yr internship/gp etc?

And if I get my degree in NZ, will I be able to be a doctor in AU and vice versa? Thanks.

Australia and New Zealand have very similar health systems, so the overall process is quite similar and the degrees are recognised in both countries without any need for extra examinations which is a great bonus.

NZ

For both Auckland and Otago it takes 6 years undergraduate until you become a doctor, while for those who do a different undergraduate degree first it’s usually a 3/4 year year undergraduate degree plus 5 years of Medicine for a total of 8-9 years.

However, in NZ the 6th year of medical school is a Trainee Intern (TI) year in which you are paid a stipend of about $30,000 during the year, so for fair comparison NZ I would consider the total undergraduate process as more like 5.5 years rather than 6.

Australia

There is a lot more options here given there are so many medical schools. The shortest pathway is in Medical Schools such as Monash, Newcastle and Bond University which are 5 year undergraduate degrees, while some like The University of Adelaide and James Cook University are 6 degrees total, and The University of Sydney is 7 years since it is a double degree programme (3 years for a non-medical degree and 4 years for Medicine). Postgraduate medical schools in Australia also vary in being 4-5 years meaning it would be a total of 7-9 years depending on the length of your undergraduate and postgraduate degrees.