Ivy League Summer Schools

Hi Crimson,
I’m an AU university student hoping to attend a uni in the US - even just for a month as a part of a summer program. I was wondering, are the Ivy League summer programs (especially those offered at Yale and Harvard) aimed at high school students, or are they open/beneficial to uni students too? If so, are there any statistics on acceptance rates?

1 Like

Hi @9021aa8d1f018a3c2f71

This is a great question! And props to you for thinking outside the box and exploring your options!

As you’ve mentioned, there indeed summer school programmes available at the various Ivy League schools which generally fall into four categories:

a) Visiting student, domestic students enrolled at another institution (i.e. Undergraduates, Graduates, High School)
b) Current Student of that institution
c) International Student, students who live outside of the USA (High School, Undergraduate and Graduate)

You would fall into the last category obviously.

As for the second, part of your question as to whether it is beneficial to participate in a summer programme abroad for a uni student. The answer is an unequivocal YES!

For myself, I try to find a balance between doing things for the sake of experience (broadening my scope of the world and trying new things) and doing things to propel myself forward in a certain direction (career development). At certain times of my life and times of the year, I act purposefully toward one or the other. Completing a summer abroad at some of the most elite universities in the world definitely, ticks both of those boxes.