How to get into a performing arts school?

I’m sitting NCEA level 2 this year and once I finish my final year at school I want to study at a performing arts university in the US. How can I better my chances of getting in and are there any requirements?
Also what are the best performing art schools to study at?

Hi Kate,

Meredith here. I am a recent graduate from the University of Michigan where I received my BFA in Theatre Performance (Acting).

Your question is tricky, because determining the “best” schools depends on what you’re looking for. Is it important for you to be in a big city? (If so, NYU or USC could be on your radar) Do you want a conservatory program or a conservatory-style program where you are also encouraged to explore other liberal arts courses? Are you most interested in acting, singing, dancing, or all three? Would you rather do live theatre, film and television, or both? These questions will help guide you. In terms of Universities whose alumni are most represented in professional theatre and film and television, I would say University of Michigan, Carnegie Mellon, Juilliard, Cincinnati Conservatory of Music, and NYU are among the top. That being said, I know so many who went to programs at other universities, had amazing experiences, and are working professionally. So my advice is to define what is important to you and then begin your search from there.