How does one get selected for a leadership position at Albany Senior High School?

I am considering attending Albany Senior High School and was wondering how leadership selection works.

I attended Albany Senior High School (ASHS) and in 2012 I was a Head Student and the Student Representative on the Board of Trustees. Before jumping in to the selection process that I went through for both positions, I’ll give an overview of the unique leadership opportunity (Impact Projects) that the school has on offer for students.

The “Impact Project” (IP) is a unique offering presented to students and forms the foundation of the schools philosophy to educate students in a dynamic environment that values learning through academic frameworks in a classroom setting while simultaneously allowing students to excel at their passion and develop real world skills. Within this model, a usual 5 day school week consisted of 4 days of regular academic learning and 1 day spent focusing wholly on IPs. When I was at high school, my peers used IP time to develop initiatives, innovations and events that pushed them to build strong interpersonal and leadership while pursuing areas that they considered for future careers or wanted to explore as a passion. For some more context, in the field of science and innovation, two students in the year above me were awarded Gold Crests for their of a carbon filtering device submission to the Google Science fair (http://www.royalsociety.org.nz/2011/05/13/two-new-zealand-school-students-are-finalists-in-the-worldwide-google-science-fair/). Others that I knew used the time to intern at art galleries, produce short films and learn second languages. The atmosphere at the school really cultivated leadership and innovation for those who were excited to push themselves.