How do you transition into "Product Design" from other design industries?

A few years ago, I decided to leave my career as an Architect, took a leap of faith and dove into the digital world to become a Product Designer.

At the time I have very little knowledge about the tech industry, and what a “Product Designer” actually does. So it was a huge learning curve. Luckily, one of my best friends inspired me with his journey (which you can read about here).

For me, it was

1. Take the leap of faith. If you don’t love what you do, change.

2. Learnt as much as I can from my peers, and the glorious internet about the tech and digital design industry.

3. Did an internship with a start-up incubator called Lightning Lab. Crash course on start-up culture and product design.

4. Scored a job at PWC digital (formerly known as Optimal Experience), as a UX Designer. PWC was one of the sponsors of Lightning Lab, so the internship paid off :slight_smile:

5. Repeat point 2… and don’t stop learning.

I was wondering if anyone else had similar experiences, and how did you transition?