How best to go about scholarship exams for subjects not taken?

I’m interested in doing scholarship exams for subjects I don’t take and was wondering if there were any specific tips for going about this. For writing subjects it seems easier to accomplish but for subjects like Economics, Accounting, or Agricultural and Horticultural Science, what would be the best way of working towards these?

I am interested in far more subjects than school allows me to take and would enjoy expanding my knowledge by working towards a goal that can potentially provide tangible recognition, as it is more motivating.

That’s a great question. We always like to see people trying to expand their knowledge and challenge themselves. I’ve invited a Crimson expert on scholarships to this thread, they will get back to you shortly :slight_smile:

While I was a student at King’s College, a fantastic academic school that doesn’t have a particularly strong culture of taking NZQA Scholarship exams, I decided I wanted to challenge myself and I picked up 12 NZQA Scholarship exams which was at the time unheard of. At the same time, I was finishing 7 A Levels in the same exam sitting so had to pursue a fast self-study approach where I focused on scholarship exams I felt I could pass on given the time constraints and ended up passing 9 of them including 1 Outstanding Scholarship in English. My NZQA Scholarships were English (O), Media Studies (S), Geography (S), French (S), English Literature (S), Chemistry (S), Economics (S), Statistics (S), Physical Education (S). I had never taken Physical Education, Media Studies, Economics or Geography before in any formal classroom setting and had never sat in a class for any NZQA Scholarship exams at all except for a few Chemistry seminars with my lovely teacher Doctor Huffadine.