Extracurriculars - how do I become more involved?

Hello everyone,

I am a student at The Gap State High School in Brisbane, Queensland (Australia) and I would love more then anything to apply for college in the U.S… I am aware that extracurriculars are very important in applying to some of these schools and I am looking for more ways to be involved.

Right now I am a part of our school musical (the first one our school has had in decades so this is the first opportunity I’ve had to do so), our drama club (open only to Year 10, 11 and 12 students studying Drama), the Year 11 Action Group (we hold one fundraiser each school term for different charities or causes) and I was a Peer Supporter for Year 7 and 8 students for over a year. I am only in Year 11 this year, however I intend on applying for a Senior leadership position for next year. I still don’t feel as though this is enough to get into the schools of my dreams (NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualised Study and The New School are my top choices) and I was wondering if anyone knew of other ways I can get involved with extracurriculars in my area?

Thank you!

Hi there,

Your co-curriculars are on the weaker side, but if you gain leadership positions next year, that should be reasonably competitive in terms of activities inside your school. It’s good that your very passionate about what you do and that you’ve done it for many years.

You should focus on more on creating/joining/organising independent projects outside your school such as a regional competition, or a national concert. Perhaps a research project or an internship!