Crimson Education Comp. Q: What insights does Frankenstein by Mary Shelley provide in contrast to contemporary society romance?

Title says it all (:

Hi Jennifer, I’m an English tutor with Crimson and an English literature student at Oxford university. This is quite an interesting question! I have a couple of points that might help to start you off.

The first thing I try to do whenever I’m given a question like this is to define what it’s really asking (that might sound obvious, but really it can lead you to find all sorts of interesting and unexpected talking points!). So my starting point here would be to ask: ‘What exactly is ‘contemporary society romance’?’

‘Romance’ in the sense of literary fiction can have a slightly different meaning to what we generally associate it with. It can still mean ‘a love story’, but it can also just mean ‘a fictitious narrative in prose or verse; the interest of which turns upon marvellous and uncommon incidents’ (as defined by Walter Scott, a 19th cent. romantic author). According to this definition, even science fiction, gothic fiction, and fantasy are subgenres of romance fiction! To read more about the romantic period, which was going on at the time Shelly was writing, head over to wikipedia.

Mary Shelley came from an intellectual background and was exposed to a lot of different authors writing in the romance genre - for example, there’s an anecdote of her hiding behind the sofa as a child as Samuel Taylor Coleridge read out his famous romance poem ‘The Rime of the Ancient Mariner’ - if you’re interested in comparing the two works, head over to this website or similar. By the way, her father was credited with writing the first mystery novel (mystery - another subgenre of romance?).

Some relevant themes being explored by Romantic novelists and poets at the time Shelley was writing:

• The beauty of nature (as a reaction against the scientific rationalisation of nature that was going on in the period).