Being a Female Director

I am a middle manager in a large corporate (under 30; female) and I would like to work towards being appointed as Director on the Board in the future.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should do to achieve this objective?

Hi! Fantastic question -

I noticed you referenced your gender in your job role so I am going to assume like many boards, the representation of women on the board is pretty low.

There are two things you need to do:

1) establish yourself as an authority and change-maker within your organization championing women’s rights

Unless half your organization is female, half the board is female and their is no pay gap, their is work to be done on this matter. Assess the current infrastructure for supporting female executives at the company and see what initiatives are in place to ensure diversity in the upper rungs.

Ask yourself where they are failing and what is the problem with them?

Following this, go ahead and make a comprehensive plan as to how the organization can better support and encourage women. Ideally not all the factors should be initiatives that cost a lot money but rather involve peer support networks for females within the company to have female mentors, invitation of guest speakers to the company to speak on female leadership etc. Present this plan to a decision-maker on the board or as close to it as you can.

Also, identify some competitions your company can enter which identify high performing work environments that treat employees well. Your board will be excited about your proposal internally but if you can bring attention to the accomplishments in supporting women externally as well so that incoming recruits are aware of this part of the firm’s identity, the board will be far more impressed.

2) excel to the highest level in your current role and continue to outperform expectations