As a freshman, how easy is it to get involved in student groups at the University of Chicago?

If I’m an incoming freshman at UChicago, how easy is it for me to join student groups? My cousin goes to UChicago and I’ve heard about some of the cool business/econ related student groups such as Blue Chips and Ekchart Consulting. My cousin told me that they’re really hard to get into and that there is a competitive admission process. I’m worried that as a freshman who doesn’t really know much about investing or business cases I won’t have a chance!

I completely understand your concern. Official student groups at the University of Chicago are called RSOs (Registered Student Organizations) and there are hundreds of them. You ask, ‘how hard is it to join an RSO?’. Well I’m afraid there is no clear cut answer – it really depends on what RSOs your looking to join. Let me tell you a little more about The Blue Chips (TBC) and Eckhart Consulting (EC).