Medical School @ Auckland University vs Otago University

I am interested in studying Medicine in New Zealand, but I’m unsure whether to go to The University of Auckland or The University of Otago - which should I choose?

2 Likes

I’m a 5th year medical student at The University of Auckland and have talked to several colleagues about the differences which I’ll summarise here.

Before I get into the differences, I’d like to point out how noticeably similar they are - both Auckland and Otago Medical Schools are highly respected across Australasia, producing well-rounded doctors for all of New Zealand in a 6 year degree catering to undergraduates and postgraduates alike. For this reason, the differences tend to be a matter of personal taste rather than one being significantly better than the other.

Difficulty of Getting in
This is probably one of the most commonly asked questions I get given the high bar for getting into medical school and the eagerness of students to get in. It is very difficult to assess this accurately given that a student can only go through one pathway, though the overall sentiment tends to be that Otago is very slightly easier - although this gap is closing in to be remarkably similar.

What’s more significant about getting in is the weightings at each University. Otago weights UMAT at 33% compared to Auckland at 15%, so my advice is usually for students to take UMAT in year 13, see how they go, and choose depending on their UMAT score if getting in is their highest priority in preference.

Academics
With regards to International Rankings of the Universities, Auckland has a slight edge over Otago, being ranked 70th in the World as opposed to Otago being in the 101-150 band. They both have great teaching, though Auckland does have slightly more world-leading researchers given it’s a major city, which is a likely explanation for the better ranking.

City Differences