Management v Finance at UOA?

Thinking of majoring in Finance or management with accounting for a BCom degree. I know finance and management are quite different majors but just want to know if:

1. Maths is a big deal in finance
  2. general workload of each course
  3. what jobs each major could lead to and employability at the end of the degree
  4. which major would ‘go better’ with accounting

Great questions!

I’m currently in my fourth year of a Commerce/Science conjoint majoring in Finance, Accounting and Applied Mathematics. Here are my answers :slight_smile:

1. Maths certainly does play a large role in finance, but not to the extent that if you aren’t a maths whiz you should forgo taking it as a major! Studying Finance as a major at UoA, you will be required to sit Maths 208 as a prerequisite. Applying yourself and doing well in this paper will ensure you have the mathematical knowledge required to do well across virtually all finance papers.

2. I can’t speak for Management as a major first-hand, but in speaking with my fellow classmates I would say that Finance papers are definitely at the higher end of the spectrum when it comes to workload. As with anything, consistently staying on top of assignments and problem sets, as well as reading ahead and preparing for lectures will ensure you can tackle each paper confidently.